Barren Earth - Olli-Pekka Laine discusses recording The Devil's Resolve

Thanks! Share it with your friends!

You disliked this video. Thanks for the feedback!

Added by vhm
Olli-Pekka Laine discusses the recording of The Devil's Resolve.


With a wealth of experience from internationally renowned acts, from former members of Finnish metallers Amorphis, to current members of Swallow the Sun, Moonsorrow, and Kreator, Barren Earth presents progressive and folk textured death/doom metal of the highest order.

Barren Earth originally appeared in 2009 with the 'Our Twilight' EP, followed quickly by their debut album, 'The Curse Of The Red River' (2010) on Peaceville. Both releases met with a rapturous reception from fans and critics alike, including awards for best new band and best album.

Barren Earth have already played many shows, not only in their native country of Finland, but also in continental Europe. Most importantly however they have also played in North America, where as a part of the 'Finnish Metal Tour 2', they played 28 shows alongside countrymen Ensiferum and Finntroll.

Mixed by Dan Swanö (Opeth/Katatonia) at Unisound, 'The Devil's Resolve' continues with all the trademarks one has come to associate with Barren Earth: brutal riffs, gloomy growls, majestic melodies, as well as acoustic and progressive passages. But this time the band has delved even deeper: what was brutal on the first release is now even more so. Likewise, they have raised the bar to a new-Progressive high.

Never a band which likes to travel on the middle of the road, Barren Earth take you on a journey through musical landscapes encompassing brutal death metal, doomy vocals (including a guest vocal appearance by Mathias Lillmåns from Finntroll), trippy 70's prog lunacy, pastoral passages and... bagpipes (courtesy of Jaakko Lemmetty from Korpiklaani) and then returning back to full-on metal mayhem again.

Artwork comes courtesy of renowned artist Paul Romano (Mastodon). This special edition of 'The Devil's Resolve' includes the exclusive bonus tracks 'Martyrs of Devotion'&'World in Haze'.

Release Date 12th March 2012

Passing of the Crimson Shadows
The Rain Begins
Vintage Warlords
As It Is Written
The Dead Exiles
Oriental Pyre
White Field
Where All Stories End
Martyrs of Devotion (Special Edition only)
World in Haze (Special Edition only)

For more info on The Devil's Resolve, go to:

To buy Barren Earth albums go to:
Peaceville Records
Commenting disabled.